Thursday, February 19, 2015

*Review* TOUCH & GO (Dare to Love #2) by Mira Lyn Kelly









SYNOPSIS:


USA Today bestselling author Mira Lyn Kelly cranks up the heat for two lifelong friends whose most secret longings come true in every delectable way.

Vivacious and successful, Ava Meyers is living her dream life, except for one thing: Ever since childhood, she’s been in love with her best friend . . . and she’s never admitted it. Back then, Sam Farrow was a damaged young man with a tough past. Now he’s supremely confident, super-sexy, and totally untouchable—until the night when Sam pretends to be Ava’s boyfriend to save her from some unwanted attention. In a moment of weakness, Ava finds out that a long friendship is no match for blistering sexual chemistry.

After years of denying his own feelings, Sam finds that one amazing night with Ava isn’t enough to chase away all the pent-up fantasies. So he proposes they spend a few weeks driving each other wild, exhausting their every desire, and then return to their perfect platonic relationship like nothing ever happened. But Sam’s plan has one fatal flaw: the part where they give each other up. Because the more they let go of their inhibitions, the more they’re tempted to never go back.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.




REVIEW:


        



Mira Lyn Kelly is a new-to-me Author and I can't wait to dive into her back list and read more!  Touch & Go is the second book in a series (Truth or Dare is book one), however, I was able to read this as a stand alone book with no problems.  I think if I would have read Truth or Dare first I would have had more background on all the characters (and the beginning wouldn't have been so fast paced), but I still was able to jump in and enjoy Sam and Ava's story easily.

Touch & Go was a story that is right up my alley, we all know how much I love a friends to lovers story!  However, Mira Lyn Kelly didn't give us the straight forward friends to lover story that we are used to.  Sam and Ava have been best friends, inseparable really, for over 20 years (they met at 7 & 10 years old) and while each of them may have had lustful thoughts for one another, they never acted on it, until a kiss, that was pretend, set off fireworks.  Sam and Ava's friendship was very comfortable, they were imbedded in each other's lives and knew that no matter what they had each other; as best friends.  Now what do they do when this kiss opened up a Pandora's box of long buried fantasies?  You get a HOT and pretty amazing story!

Mira Lyn Kelly created very interesting characters in this series and I loved that they weren't perfect, just slightly damaged from their pasts.  Ava was complex, she seemed to know exactly what she wanted and was willing to just be friends with benefits with Sam even though her heart craved more.  She was smart, sassy and knew when it was time to protect her heart.  I liked her character up until the last few choices she made (she got a bit dramatic) but overall I enjoyed that she wasn't the doormat just waiting for her happy ever after.  Sam.  God love Sam!  What a hot, tool-belt wearing fantasy come true!  I loved Sam and his creative ways.  Sam is the perfect best friend, the best lover, but he doesn't do relationships.  He has a pretty sad back story that gets unveiled throughout the book that really plays into the man he has become (understandably).  I loved reading Sam's journey as we watched him get everything thing he didn't think he wanted with the one girl he didn't think he could ever have.  Sigh.  

Touch & Go is a quick, hot and clever book that any romance junkie will enjoy! If you love the friend to lovers trope as I do, you will not be disappointed in Sam and Ava!  Fans of Mira Lyn Kelly, I'm sure, will love this next installment in the Dare to Love series, as you do get to see more from Maggie and Tyler (from Truth or Dare).  I can't wait to read more from this Author and I am glad she has lots of choices on her back list!  Touch & Go is a great book to spend a cold night with, it will definitely heat things up!









BUY THIS BOOK:




MEET THE AUTHOR:


USA Today bestselling author Mira Lyn Kelly grew up in the Chicago area and earned her degree in Fine Arts from Loyola University. She met the love of her life while studying abroad in Rome, Italy, only to discover he’d been living right around the corner from her back home. Having spent her twenties working and playing in the Windy City, she’s now settled with her husband in rural Minnesota, where their four beautiful children and naughty dog provide an excess of action and entertainment. When she isn’t reading, writing, or running to keep up with the family, she loves watching movies, blabbing with the girls, and cooking with her husband and friends.

You can also find Mira on FACEBOOK at www.facebook.com/miralynkelly.author
or keep up with her book news by joining her not-super-frequent newsletter at http://eepurl.com/A-XKr

(Mira also writes Erotic Romance under the pen name Moira McTark)


SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS: